Ana Lessing Menjibar
Perpetual Archive
Dance/Performance
Hochzeitssaal
Few language

In Perpetual Archive, Ana Lessing Menjibar experiments with the cultural heritage associated with her background in flamenco dance: Following Beuys’ motto “show your wound”, flamenco can be seen as an art form with cathartic potential – a collective agreement to pay attention to the wound of the individual and thus merge with each other. Through emotion and participation, flamenco releases the transformative power to turn pain into energy and empowerment. Menjibar draws from her personal archive of physical memories and thought patterns, creating a poetic space between formality and ecstasy, revealing a series of states, creatures, spatial concepts and unfolding a poetic world.

For questions or information about accessibility, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

ANA LESSING MENJIBAR is a German-Spanish performer, dancer and visual artist, born and based in Berlin. In her work she weaves body and sound in multimedia installations to construct poetic-surreal worlds that reveal a series of states. Exploring the transformative potential of flamenco in the context of performance and contemporary dance, the body is also addressed as a unique source of sound and rhythm, using sound to act as a performer in space. In addition to flamenco dance, she studied visual communication at the UdK Berlin and completed a master solo/dance/authoring degree at the HZT-Berlin.

Philipp Kullen studied percussion and drums, graduating in 2006 from the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin. He has been touring Europe as a professional musician since 2005 – for music of different styles: from jazz to flamenco to electronic music. From 2009 to 2011 he explored the possibilities of a creative approach to sound and space in his studies Sound Studies at the University of the Arts in Berlin. Since 2009 he realized several experimental sound works, sound installations and sound performances in Berlin, among others in the context of Transmediale 2010 and at the festival klangstaetten 2012 in Braunschweig. He also works as a musician at the Berliner Ensemble in productions by Jean Bellorini and Robert Wilson and at the Konzerthaus Berlin with Nico and the Navigators.

CONCEPT, CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE Ana Lessing Menjibar COMPOSITION Ana Lessing Menjibar, Philipp Kullen MUSIC Philipp Kullen DRAMATURGY Vera Fenyvesi Köppern DRAMATURGICAL ADVICE Sandra Umathum COSTUME Eric Winkler STAGE Ana Lessing Menjibar LIGHT Joseph Wegmann Technical direction Nikola Pieper MENTORS Sandra Umathum, Jeremy Wade, Monica Bonvicini

A production by HZT-Berlin, with special support by Sandra Noeth, Rhys Martin, Sophia New, Nik Haffner and Angela Schubot. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe and Paul Studios. The 30th edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte and Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung

Ana Lessing Menjibar
Perpetual Archive
Tanz/Performance
Hochzeitssaal
Wenig Sprache

Ana Lessing Menjibar experimentiert in Perpetual Archive mit dem kulturellen Erbe, das mit ihrem Background im Flamencotanz verbunden ist: In Anlehnung an Beuys‘ Motto „zeige deine Wunde“ kann der Flamenco als eine Kunstform mit kathartischem Potenzial betrachtet werden – eine kollektive Übereinkunft, auf die Wunde des Einzelnen zu blicken und so miteinander zu verschmelzen. Durch Emotion und Teilhabe setzt Flamenco die transformative Kraft frei, Schmerz in Energie und Empowerment zu verwandeln. Menjibar schöpft aus ihrem persönlichen Archiv an körperlichen Erinnerungen und Gedankengebilden und schafft einen poetischen Raum zwischen Formalität und Ekstase.

Bei Fragen oder für Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

ANA LESSING MENJIBAR ist eine deutsch-spanische Performerin, Tänzerin und bildende Künstlerin, geboren und aufgewachsen in Berlin. In ihrer Arbeit verwebt sie Körper und Klang in multimedialen Installationen, um poetisch-surreale Welten zu konstruieren, die eine Reihe von Zuständen offenbaren. Sie erforscht das transformative Potenzial des Flamenco im Kontext von Performance und zeitgenössischem Tanz. Neben dem Flamencotanz studierte sie Visuelle Kommunikation an der UdK Berlin und absolvierte den Master Solo/Dance/Autorship am HZT-Berlin.

Philipp Kullen studierte Perkussion und Schlagzeug an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin. Er ist seit 2005 als professioneller Musiker europaweit auf Tour – für Musik unterschiedlicher Stilarten: von Jazz über Flamenco bis hin zu elektronischer Musik. Von 2009 bis 2011 erforschte er im Studium Sound Studies an der Universität der Künste in Berlin die Möglichkeiten eines kreativen Umgangs mit Klang und Raum. Seit 2009 realisierte er mehrere experimentelle Sound-Arbeiten, Klanginstallationen und Klangperformances in Berlin, u. a. im Rahmen der Transmediale 2010 und beim Festival klangstaetten 2012 in Braunschweig. Er arbeitet zudem als Musiker am Berliner Ensemble in Inszenierungen von Jean Bellorini und Robert Wilson sowie am Konzerthaus Berlin mit Nico and the Navigators.

KONZEPT, CHOREOGRAFIE, PERFORMANCE Ana Lessing Menjibar KOMPOSITION Ana Lessing Menjibar, Philipp Kullen MUSIK Philipp Kullen DRAMATURGIE Vera Fenyvesi Köppern DRAMATURGISCHE BERATUNG Sandra Umathum KOSTÜM Eric Winkler BÜHNE Ana Lessing Menjibar LICHT Joseph Wegmann TECHNISCHE LEITUNG Nikola Pieper MENTOR:INNEN Sandra Umathum, Jeremy Wade, Monica Bonvicini

Eine Produktion des HZT-Berlin, mit besonderer Unterstützung von Sandra Noeth, Rhys Martin, Sophia New, Nik Haffner und Angela Schubot. Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und den Paul Studios. Die 30. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte und Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung