Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz
DOOM
Dance/Performance
Festsaal
PREMIERE
Few language

DOOM – a durational performance in the form of a drone/doom metal concert in a constantly changing environment of hair and body. DOOM – an accumulation of grievances and a mapping of these grievances into an entanglement of snarls. DOOM – the foreboding of sounds that shake us and force us to search for the connection between the things we usually keep separate. The apocalypse is blooming around us, but DOOM shows us a non-fatalistic way to sense our surroundings, to react attentively to the people in the room and to explore them. Illuminated by Sandra Blatterer’s TOGETHER ALONE sculptures, four performers move through a precarious landscape of chaos, magic and collapse – often intensified and distorted by incessant dancing.

For questions or information about accessibility, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

LAYTON LACHMAN creates performances rooted in somatics and directs these experiences into immersive, sensory complex worlds. Layton is committed to a dance practice that focuses on group studies, the expansion of “The Commons” and collective authorship – with the understanding that we always work with the people who come before, after and with us. After earning a BFA in choreography from the University of Ohio, Layton moved to San Francisco and has worked with Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Margit Galanter, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann and SALTA, among others. In Berlin, Layton worked mainly with the T.E.N.T. collective. Layton set up a research studio, organized events, parties and shows in Berlin, Dresden, Stockholm and on free farmlands. laytonlachman.com 
   
SAMUEL HERTZ is a composer/researcher specialized in sound and climate. Previous performances on infrasound, acoustic ecology and radiophonic lunar transmission have been presented at venues such as the Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK) and the National Science + Media Museum (UK). Hertz has written seven essays on sound and the environment, and his research is currently underway as part of the School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative. samhertzsound.com

CHOREOGRAPHY Layton Lachman COMPOSITION, SOUND DESIGN Samuel Hertz BY AND WITH Caroline Neill Alexander, Emeka Ene COSTUME Ivanka Tramp LIGHT DESIGN Sandra Blatterer Dramaturgical advice Maxi Wallenhorst

A production by Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. The 30th edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte and Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung

Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz
DOOM
Tanz/Performance
Festsaal
PREMIERE
Wenig Sprache

DOOM – eine durational performance in Form eines Drone/Doom-Metal-Konzerts in einer sich ständig verändernden Umgebung aus Haar und Körper. DOOM – das Anprangern von Missständen und die Übersetzung dieser Missstände in ein grollendes Knäuel. DOOM – die Vorahnung von Klängen, die uns erschüttern und dazu zwingen, nach der Verbindung zwischen den Dingen zu suchen, die wir gewöhnlich getrennt halten. Um uns herum schlägt die Apokalypse ihre Blüten, aber DOOM zeigt uns einen nicht-fatalistischen Weg, wie wir unsere Umgebung erspüren, auf die Menschen im Raum achtsam reagieren und sie ergründen können. Beleuchtet von Sandra Blatterers TOGETHER ALONE-Skulpturen bewegen sich vier Performer:innen durch eine fragile Landschaft aus Chaos, Magie und Zerfall – die durch pausenloses Tanzen oft noch verstärkt und verzerrt wird.

Bei Fragen oder für Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

LAYTON LACHMAN entwickelt Performances, die in der Somatik wurzeln, und lenkt diese Erfahrungen in immersive, sensorisch komplexe Welten. Layton engagiert sich für eine Tanzpraxis, die sich auf Gruppenstudien, die Erweiterung des „The Commons“ und kollektive Autorenschaft konzentriert – mit dem Verständnis, dass wir immer mit den Menschen zusammenarbeiten, die vor, nach und mit uns kommen. Nachdem einem BFA in Choreografie der Universität Ohio zog Layton nach San Francisco und arbeitete u. a. mit Abby Crain, Mara Poliak, Margit Galanter, Kathleen Hermesdorf, Sara Shelton Mann und SALTA zusammenarbeitete. In Berlin arbeitete Layton vor allem mit dem T.E.N.T.-Kollektiv zusammen. Layton richtete ein Forschungsstudio ein, organisierte Veranstaltungen, Partys und Shows in Berlin, Dresden, Stockholm und auf freien Farmlandschaften. laytonlachman.com

SAMUEL HERTZ ist ein Komponist/Forscher, der sich auf Klang und Klima spezialisiert hat. Frühere Performances über Infraschall, akustische Ökologie und radiophone Mondübertragung wurden an Orten wie dem Palais de Tokyo (FR), Fylkingen (SE), Pioneer Works (US), Opera North (UK) und dem National Science + Media Museum (UK) präsentiert. Hertz hat sieben Essays über Klang und Umwelt verfasst, und seine Forschung findet derzeit im Rahmen der School of Infinite Rehearsals/Onassis Future Initiative statt. samhertzsound.de

CHOREOGRAFIE Layton Lachman KOMPOSITION, SOUNDDESIGN Samuel Hertz VON UND MIT Caroline Neill Alexander, Emeka Ene KOSTÜM Ivanka Tramp LICHTDESIGN Sandra Blatterer Dramaturgische Beratung Maxi Wallenhorst

Eine Produktion von Layton Lachman/Samuel Hertz in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Die 30. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte und Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung