Tiran Willemse Normanson / Nkisi
(bb)
Dance/Performance
Festsaal
Premiere
In English

(bb) is: the need for each other; an encouragement for each other; unclear boundaries between bromance and romance; a brotherhood/sisterhood manifesting between sound and dance; the other’s babe or baby; the rhythm that one does not understand, only feels.
The collaboration between the dancer and director Tiran Willemse Normanson and the musician Nkisi was inspired by the idea of “backup”: In (bb) it is about stepping back and highlight everything that is not center stage, in order to give space instead to the supporting structures in the theater. The performance explores the dialogue between sound and dance, penetrating and transforming each other and constantly evolving in forms and textures.

For questions or information about accessibility, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

TIRAN WILLEMSE NORMANSON, born in South Africa, is a contemporary performer and artist based between Berlin and Bern. In his artistic work Tiran Willemse Normanson investigates the influence of rhythm and sound on the body and its environment. Using movement and language, he creates images that deal with controversial issues, creating experiences that invite more attention, listening and learning. Tiran Willemse Normanson studied at the PARTS School For Contemporary Dance in Brussels and at the University of the Arts Berne and has worked with Eszter Salamon, Jérôme Bel, Ligia Lewis, Trajal Harrell, Meg Stuart, Andros Zins-Browne, Alex Bachzinsky Jenkins and with the Cullberg Ballet under Deborah Hay and Jeftha Van Dinther.

NKISI is the pseudonym of Melika Ngombe Kolongo, whose activities as producer, live musician, DJ and curator allow for a continuous investigation of invisible forces with the help of sound. Musically, this manifests itself in a captivating cross-talk of African rhythms, uncompromising European hard dance tropes, somber synthesizer melodies, and the relentless, electrifying energy used for her increasingly kinetic live performances.

CONCEPT, ARTISTIC DIRECTION, CHOREOGRAPHY, SET + LIGHT DESIGN, TEXT, LYRICS, PERFORMANCE Nkisi, Tiran Willemse Normanson KOSTÜM Nicolas Maxim Endlicher MCMLXXXV Light advice Joseph Wegmann DRAMATURGY Maxi Wallenhorst, Nkisi, Tiran Willemse Normanson Dramaturgical advice Maxi Wallenhorst

A production by Tiran Willemse Normanson/Nkisi in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE. The 30th edition of Tanztage Berlin is a production of SOPHIENSÆLE. Supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With the friendly support of Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte and Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Media partner: taz. die tageszeitung

Tiran Willemse Normanson / Nkisi
(BB)
Tanz/Performance
Festsaal
Premiere
Auf Englisch

(bb) ist: das Bedürfnis nacheinander; eine Ermutigung füreinander; unklare Grenzen zwischen Bromance und Romance; eine Bruderschaft/Schwesternschaft zwischen Klang und Tanz; das Babe oder Baby des anderen; der Rhythmus, den man nicht versteht, nur fühlt.
Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Tänzer und Regisseur Tiran Willemse Normanson und der Musikerin Nkisi wurde von der Idee des „Backups“ inspiriert: In (bb) geht es darum, zurückzutreten und alles hervorzuheben, was nicht im Mittelpunkt der Bühne steht, um stattdessen den unterstützenden Strukturen im Theater Raum zu geben. Die Performance erforscht den Dialog von Klang und Tanz, die einander durchdringen, sich gegenseitig transformieren und sich beständig in Formen und Texturen weiterentwickeln.

Bei Fragen oder für Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

TIRAN WILLEMSE NORMANSON, geboren in Südafrika, ist ein zeitgenössischer Performer und Künstler, der in Berlin und Bern lebt. Tiran Willemse Normanson untersucht in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit den Einfluss von Rhythmus und Sound auf den Körper und seine Umgebung. Mithilfe von Bewegung und Sprache kreiert er Bilder, die sich mit kontroversen Themen auseinandersetzen, und schafft damit Erfahrungen, die zu mehr Aufmerksamkeit, Zuhören und Lernen einladen. Tiran Willemse Normanson studierte an der PARTS School For Contemporary Dance in Brüssel und an der Universität der Künste Bern und arbeitete bereits mit Eszter Salamon, Jérôme Bel, Ligia Lewis, Trajal Harrell, Meg Stuart, Andros Zins-Browne, Alex Bachzinsky Jenkins und mit dem Cullberg Ballett unter Deborah Hay und Jeftha Van Dinther.

NKISI ist das Pseudonym von Melika Ngombe Kolongo, deren Aktivitäten als Produzentin, Livemusikerin, DJ und Kuratorin eine kontinuierliche Untersuchung unsichtbarer Kräfte mit Hilfe von Klang ermöglichen. Musikalisch manifestiert sich dies in einem fesselnden Cross-Talk aus afrikanischen Rhythmen, kompromisslosen europäischen Hard-Dance-Tropen, düsteren Synthesizer-Melodien und unerbittlicher, elektrisierender Energie, wie sie für ihre zunehmend kinetischen Live-Auftritte genutzt wird.

KONZEPT, KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG, CHOREOGRAFIE, SET-, LICHTDESIGN, TEXT, LYRICS, PERFORMANCE Nkisi, Tiran Willemse Normanson KOSTÜM Nicolas Maxim Endlicher MCMLXXXV BERATUNG LICHT Joseph Wegmann DRAMATURGIE Maxi Wallenhorst, Nkisi, Tiran Willemse Normanson Dramaturgische Beratung Maxi Wallenhorst

Eine Produktion von Tiran Willemse Normanson/Nkisi in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE. Die 30. Tanztage Berlin sind eine Produktion der SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Tanzfabrik Berlin e.V., Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte und Förderband e.V./Berliner Spielplan Audiodeskription. Medienpartner: taz. die tageszeitung